It’s October, and that means the Plein Air Painters of New Mexico have dished out awards at its annual juried members exhibition. Who took home the hardware?
Cecilia Robertson won the top prize, Best of Show, for her oil painting “Summer Sparkle.” In the Signature Member division, Thomas Wezwick earned the top award for “Let the Paint Fly.” He also won Artists’ Choice with that piece.

“Let the Paint Fly,” by Thomas Wezwick, 2015, oil, 20 x 24 in. First Place, Signature Member, and Artists’ Choice

Lee MacLeod was the top winner in the Artist Member category, with “Italian Light.” Karyn Debont won the Louisa McElwain Memorial Award with “Prickly Pair.”

“Italian Light,” by Lee MacLeod, 2015, oil 10 x 8 in. First Place, Artist Member

Kathleen Elsey won a pair of awards for her acrylic painting “Rio Grande Morning With Piñons”: People’s Choice and an Award of Excellence in Acrylic/Watercolor.

“Prickly Pair,” by Karyn Debont, 2015, oil on linen panel, 10 x 10 in. Louisa McElwain Memorial Award

“Rio Grande Morning With Piñons,” by Kathleen Elsey, 2015, acrylic, 30 x 24 in.
People’s Choice and Award of Excellence in Acrylic/Watercolor

Other winners included Jane Chandler (Award of Excellence in Pastel), Jason Sacran (Award of Excellence in Oil), and Richard Szkutnik (Award of Excellence—Architectural Subject). Tobi Clement, Jessie Dodington, and Mel Feltman won Honorable Mention.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here