Nobody saved anybody’s life this year, as far as we know, but by other measures the 2016 Artists Paint OC event dazzled as brightly as last year’s. Who won in Maryland?
Ann Coates, the owner of Bishop’s Stock Gallery in Snow Hill, Maryland, served as judge, surveying the pieces created by 50 painters over three days in the resort town of Ocean City, Maryland. In the end, she awarded First Place to Crystal Moll, Second Place to Ray Ewing, Third Place to David Simpson, and Honorable Mention to Jim Rehak, Barbara Stepura, and Dennis Young.

Pastelist Dennis Young won the Quick Draw competition.

Duane Sabiston paints while Rachael Moore observes during the Quick Draw competition.

There was a Quick Draw competition on the boardwalk; of the 33 artists painting furiously for two hours, Dennis Young won First Place, Crystal Moll won Second Place, Charles Viera won Third, and Honorable Mention went to Ray Ewing, George Kalwa, and Val Witkowski.

The winners in Artists Paint OC (from left): Dennis Young, Honorable Mention; Marian Bickerstaff, president of the Art League of Ocean City; Crystal Moll, First Place; Barbara Stepura and Jim Rehak, Honorable Mention; David Simpson, Third Place; Ray Ewing, Second Place; and Ocean City Mayor Rick Meehan.

The Quick Draw winners (from left): Charles Viera, Third Place; Crystal Moll, Second Place; Marian Bickerstaff, president of the Art League of Ocean City; Dennis Young, First Place; Emily Schwab, plein air event coordinator; George Kalwa, Honorable Mention; Glenn Irwin of the OCDC; Val Witkowski, Honorable Mention; Rina Thaler, executive director of the Ocean City Center for the Arts; and Ray Ewing, Honorable Mention.

The event was put on by the Art League of Ocean City. The paintings will be on display at the Ocean City Center for the Arts through August 27.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here