Jane Hunt, “Through the Trees,” oil

Laguna Plein Air Painters Association (LPAPA) received over 325 entries for its 13th Annual Best of Plein Air exhibition, which is slated to open in just a few days. Who made the cut in 2017? Details here!

Saturday, June 10 marks an exciting day in Laguna Beach, California. That’s when LPAPA will host an opening reception for one of its most anticipated yearly events: The Best of Plein Air exhibition. Taking place at the Forest & Ocean Gallery, the special juried exhibition will feature 78 original works created by 47 Signature and Artist members of LPAPA. Proceeds from sales benefit both the artist and LPAPA.

Lisa Mozzini-McDill, “Spring Flowers,” oil

“This particular show is one of the most popular amongst our membership,” says LPAPA’s executive director, Rosemary Swimm. “The reason for the popularity is that in addition to five case awards to be given, the top award-winning artist will win a ‘golden ticket’ with an invitation to participate in LPAPA’s 19th Annual Laguna Beach Plein Air Painting Invitational, to be presented the week of October 7-15, 2017. This is an invitation coveted by hundreds of artists, with only 35 invitations delivered each year to the nation’s top plein air artists. Thirty-three of the 35 artists invited are chosen by LPAPA’s Selection Committee, which is made up of experts in California Impressionism, top collectors, board members, and recommendations received from Signature artists. The last two spots remaining are filled with the top award-winning artists from the Best of Plein Air and PleinAir Easton exhibitions.”

Patrick Saunders, “Morning After the Holiday,” oil
Kathie Odom, “Leaving the Light On,” oil

The exhibition opens on June 5, running through July 3. Who are the artists you can expect to see in 2017? Kirsten Anderson, Joli Beal, Nanette Biers, Rachelle Boyd, John Budicin, Larry Cannon, Val Carson, Rick J. Delanty, Mark Fehlman, Scott Hamill, Mike Hernandez, Carolyn Hesse-Low, Sibyl Johnson, Paul Kratter, Richard Lindenberg, Joe Mancuso, Patricia McGeeney, Fernando Micheli, Clark Mitchell, Mark Monsarrat, Lisa Mozzini-McDill, Paige Oden, Frances Pampeyan, Anthony Salvo, Julia Seelos, Shelley Smith, Kathleen Strukoff, Durre Waseem, Sharon Weaver, Joe Anna Arnett, Pierre Bouret, Brenda Boylan, Saim Caglayan, Philip Carlton, Bill Cramer, Christine Debrosky, Debra Joy Groesser, Karen Ann Hitt, Kathleen Hudson, Jane Hunt, Debra Latham, Jonathan McPhillips, Kathie Odom, Jason Sacran, Patrick Saunders, Bob Upton, and Jean-Pierre Jacquet.

To learn more, visit LPAPA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here