Aimee Erickson, “Before Sunrise,” oil (Best in Show)

The 19th Annual Laguna Beach Plein Air Painting Invitational was another resounding success. Each year, the event showcases the nation’s top plein air landscape painters, who compete for more than $30,000 in cash prizes. Who grabbed awards last weekend? Find out here.

Thirty-five of the nation’s top plein air painters were busy bees last week in Laguna Beach, California, as each ventured out into the historic artists’ colony and famous beachside town to take part in the 19th Annual Laguna Beach Plein Air Painting Invitational. Inclusion in the event, hosted by the Laguna Plein Air Painters Association from October 7-15, is a major victory for any artist.

Zufar Bikbov, “Made in the Shade,” oil (Distinctive Merit Award)
Jennifer Diehl, “Laguna Nights,” oil (Dr. Edward H. Boseker Award)

Featured in this year’s event were Jacobus Baas, Suzie Baker, Zufar Bikbov, Carl Bretzke, John Burton, John Cosby, Rick J. Delanty, Gil Dellinger, Jennifer Diehl, Aimee Erickson, Andy Evansen, Debra Joy Groesser, Joe Gyurcsak, Stephanie Hartshorn, Jane Hunt, Charlie Hunter, Greg LaRock, John P. Lasater IV, Richard Lindenberg, Daniel Marshall, James McGrew, Jim McVicker, Clark Mitchell, Michael Obermeyer, Rita Pacheco, Colin Page, Jesse Powell, Jason Sacran, Anthony Salvo, Patrick Saunders, Jeff Sewell, Michael Situ, J. Ken Spencer, Michele Usibelli, and Jove Wang.

Stephanie Hartshorn, “Well Guarded,” oil ( Award)
by Jane Hunt (Fine Art Connoisseur Award)

This year’s event kicked off quickly — pun intended — on October 8 with the Quick Draw competition. Artists were given a two-hour window to create their masterpieces at Heisler Park while visitors strolled by. Around 5 p.m., organizers opened the Quick Sale of wet paintings, which generated more than $23,000 — which benefits the participating artists and LPAPA.  The winner? That would be artist John Crosby for his painting “Laguna Stroll”.

Greg LaRock, “Yard Work,” oil (PleinAir Magazine Award)
Jim McVicker, “Laguna Atmosphere,” oil (Irvine Museum Collection at UCI Award)

Ascending painter Aimee Erickson took home top honors this year for her beautiful work “Before Sunrise”; Jason Sacran’s “Breaking Light, Three Arches” received an Award of Excellence while his body of work got him the Artists’ Choice Award; Zufar Bikbov’s “Made in the Shade” grabbed a Distinctive Merit Award; “Laguna Nights” by Jennifer Diehl earned the artist the Dr. Edward H. Boseker Award; Jim McVicker took home the Irvine Museum Collection at UCI Award for “Laguna Atmosphere”; the PleinAir Magazine Award was given to Greg LaRock for “Yard Work”; the Fine Art Connoisseur Award was earned by Jane Hunt for her entire body of work; and Stephanie Hartshorn’s “Well Guarded” was the winner of the Award.

Jason Sacran, “Breaking Light, Three Arches,” oil (Award of Excellence)

Other awards included Charlie Hunter’s “Beach Shack Crystal Cove”, which took the Architectural Award; Andy Evansen’s “Midnight On Main Beach” earned the Artistic Palette Award; Rita Pacheco’s “Crystal Clear Morning” was the winner of The Revelite Award; John Burton’s body of work earned him the Randy Higbee Gallery Award; the Collector’s Choice Award was taken by Jove Wang; “Good Morning Laguna” by Suzie Baker was the winner of the Directors’ Choice Award; Strada Easel sponsored an award given to Michele Usibelli; and Jeff Sewell’s “South Swell, South Laguna” was the winner of the American Art Collector Award;

This article was featured in PleinAir Today, a weekly e-newsletter from PleinAir magazine. To start receiving PleinAir Today for free, click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here