Artists descended on Maryland during the last bit of spring weather for Paint Annapolis, organized by the Maryland Federation of Art. There were plenty of awards to win — for both professionals and the general public.
Elise Phillips took the top prize — First Place — for her piece “Clearing Skies.” Lon Brauer won Second for “Garden Party.” Neal Hughes snagged Third with “It Still Runs.”

The piece that won Julie Riker First Place in the London Town paint-out

The Lee Boynton Memorial Award for Best Water was won by Ray Ewing for “Calm Waters.” The Ardis Diaz Memorial Award for Best Use of Light went to William Rogers for “Annapolis Skyline.” David Diaz won Best Painting in the Country for “Break Time.” Best Painting in the Naval Academy was won by Ken Karlic for “It’s Academic.” Nikolay Mikushkin, Duane Sabiston, and Patrick Saunders won Honorable Mention.
The London Town paint-out produced eight winners. In the Juried Artists category, Julie Riker took First, Nyle Gordon won Second, and Olena Baraka won Third Place, with Paul George earning Honorable Mention. In the Public Artists category, the winners were Mehrdad Izad (First Place), Kathleen Robinson (Second Place), Anne Chamberlain (Third Place), and Mike Jakubowski (Honorable Mention). Judges Ron Colbroth and Lauren Silberman chose the London Town paint-out winners.

A piece by Lon Brauer, the winner of the Dueling Brushes contest

The Nocturne paint-out earned Elise Phillips another First Place finish, this time for “Naptown Evening Sparkle.” Patrick Saunders won Second Place with “Night Falls on the Maryland Inn,” and Nyle Gordon earned Third with “Hats in the Belfry.” David Williams got Honorable Mention. The Public Artists winners in the Nocturne paint-out were Ronaldo Dorado (First Place), Stacey Sass (Second Place), Nina Ellsworth (Third Place), and Courtney E. Lee (Honorable Mention). Abigail McBride judged this contest.
A special juror — Kirk McBride — was tapped to judge the Dueling Brushes contest. Lon Brauer won First Place, Neal Hughes won Second, and Katie Dobson Cundiff won Third. Among Public Artists, Ronaldo Dorado won First, Carolyn Councell won Second, Mike Jakubowski won Third, and Matt Fenton won Honorable Mention. Two student artists took home awards — Chavela Bell and Jonathan Storch.

“Naptown Evening Sparkle,” by Elise Phillips. Winner of the Nocturne competition

Ron Boehmer served as judge for the overall event, choosing winners from more than 250 pieces. The pieces will be on view at 49 West Coffeehouse until June 30.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here