A major annual exhibition for the American Impressionist Society is leaving powerful impressions on viewers. Find out who took home awards from the show.
A select group of Impressionist painters are exhibiting together this month at the 15th Annual American Impressionist Society National Juried Exhibition. Participation in the exhibition alone bestows prestige on any painter; still, a group of exhibition awards further distinguishes some of the finest pieces on display. AIS Master Clayton J. Beck III served as juror of awards for this year’s exhibition, naming the fortunate winners at a reception on October 2.

Matt M. Linz, “The Actress,” oil, 14 x 11 in. Second Place
Mark Boedges took Best of Show with an eye-catching snow scene titled “Winter’s Complex Pattern.” Indeed, the varied colors and textures formed by the frozen creek, snowfall, bared stones, tree limbs, and leaves provides a memorable crystallization of the winter season.

Lori Putnam, “Down to the Sea,” oil, 18 x 24 in. Third Place
Second Place went to Matt Linz for his portrait painting “The Actress.” Third Place went to Lori Putnam for “Down to the Sea,” a depiction of a coastal city reflecting the warm light of the sun.
Streamline Publishing sponsored two awards: The Fine Art Connoisseur Award of Excellence went to Julie Petro, and the PleinAir Magazine Award of Excellence went to Dan Schultz.

Julie Petro, “Rose Kimono,” oil, 6 x 12 in. Fine Art Connoisseur Award of Excellence

Xiaogang Zhu claimed the William Schultz Award in Oils; Diane Lyon took the Dickinson Signature Member Award; and Christine Debrosky won the President’s Choice Award.
In a segment of awards sponsored by art schools and art materials suppliers, Fran Ellisor claimed the Chesapeake Fine Art Studio Award of Distinction; Valerie Craig won the Fredericksburg Artists’ School Award of Distinction; Trey Finne won the Blue Ridge Oils Award of Distinction; Dave Santillanes came away with the Blick Art Materials/Utrecht Award of Distinction; and Chad Smithtook the Savoir-Faire/Sennelier Award of Distinction.

Dan Schultz, “Shoreline Shadows, High Key,” oil, 24 x 24 in. PleinAir Magazine Award of Excellence
Additionally, nine artists received Honorable Mentions for their contributions to the exhibition:Gina Brown, Roy Boswell, Val Carson, Raj Chaudhuri, Lawrence Churski, Jeanette LeGrue, Gail Rein, Ned Meuller, and Greg LaRock.
The 15th Annual American Impressionist Society Exhibition continues through November 1 at Abend Gallery in Denver, Colorado.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here